Love Is A Gift, Not A Reward

Posted: April 4, 2014 in Religion/Philosophy
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“We love him, because he first loved us.” -1 John 4:19, King James Version

Doesn’t that verse say it all?  You don’t have to constantly be beating yourself up or worrying you will get hit in the head with a hammer the next time you mess up, because you won’t!  God has always loved you enough that he gave his only begotten Son, so that you won’t perish(John 3:16)!

To put this simply, and to express the point I’m trying to make I’ll let you know that I’m not perfect but God loves me!  and I know I mess up and I don’t deserve His love but He loved me anyways, and I’m confident you can be a beloved child of God as well if you just accept that love because He is patient and waiting for you(2 Peter 3:9)!

I hate religion because it’s always telling people to “Do this, do that”.  Simply learn to give glory to God and rest in His love.  Continue seeking, asking, and knocking and he will reveal, give, and open the door to you(Matthew 7:7).

Remember that Jesus sacrifice on the cross was enough for your sin debt and that God loved you enough to give His Son.  Remember that when Christ was hanging on that cross he said, “It Is Finished!”(John 19:30)

Just believe that what Christ did for you was enough, and you shall be saved!(Acts 16:31)

Remember that once you’ve been truly saved you are justified, and you will also be sanctified, and glorified!(Romans 8:30)

Know that He will never leave you nor forsake you(Deutoronomy 31:8, Hebrews 13:5), and that He will assuredly help you turn into who He wants you to be(Phillipians 1:6)!

I hope the Scripture helped!  If you know you’ve been loved by Jesus Christ then be thankful for that love and spread it to others!  It’s called the gospel(Good news) for a reason after all! 🙂

Leave a comment